Tags

, ,

Well, as they would say on the Fast Show: this week, I have been mostly doing patchwork. As I have already said, the sewing machine is brilliant for a quick fix but there is something very satisfying about arranging small bits of fabric and sewing them into pretty patterns. It is particularly satisfying when you have bits of very lovely fabric, such as those by French General for Moda, bought at the Quilt Festival in August. I could spend several posts gushing about how wonderfully inspiring I found the quilt festival but anyone who reads this type of blog has probably had their fill already (and I have noticed that my friends smile indulgently when I mention it…) so I’ll limit this post to gushing about French General fabrics instead. I’ve struggled to source their whole range in the UK but I did buy a lovely little Belle Fleur charm pack at the Quilt festival. The poor husband was also dragged halfway round Bath in the pouring rain as I tried to find the Country Threads Patchwork shop. We were sodden, grumpy and tired but I persevered and I’m so glad that I did as this veritable Tardis of a fabric emporium was a real treat (for me at least) and I spent a good hour staring longingly at bolt after bolt of beautiful fabrics. In the end, I had to be contented with a few fat- quarters from the Rouenneries Deux range. I offered to treat the husband too but, rather unsurprisingly, he declined. So I bought him lunch instead.

Enough of the rambling, I hear you say, show us some pictures! Well, I have used the belle fleur to make a Dresden plate, which I think will become a cushion when it is completed.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I have also been constructing hexagons that will eventually be turned into a quilt-top inspired by the very beautiful quilts that I spent hours admiring during our visit to the American Museum in Bath.

Several hundred more hexies to sew I think!!

I think the trip to Bath (which was in honour of our second wedding anniversary) may have become something of a quilt odyssey! Indeed, I could have spent a great deal more time looking at the amazing textiles (and playing with the design-a-quilt tool) but I had to remember that my husband does not share my love of all things patchwork and he would only be placated by a visit to the Gangsters and Gunslingers exhibition and by a large piece of cake.

Well, I think I have come to the end of my musings for this evening. The cat is demanding attention and I do have all those Christmas presents to make…

April x

