I’m feeling slightly under the weather this week so thought that I would write a blog post in an attempt to cheer myself up. I am also aware that I haven’t posted anything since the beginning of the month so an update is well overdue!  Well, it’s been an eventful month. Just over two weeks ago I took my first driving test. Those of you who are acquainted with me will no doubt have had your ear bent with the various tribulations that I have experienced since deciding that it really was time to master a wheeled vehicle other than a tricycle. I have been abandoned by two instructors, I’ve struggled to understand how (or even why) you would reverse around a corner and I’ve sighed deeply at my monthly bank statements. There have been times when I’ve wanted to give it up, when I’ve lost the rag with the poor husband, when I’ve refused to get back in the car, when I’ve wondered why I was putting myself through all of this. There are those who take to driving without any issue. I’m not one of those people. Getting to the point of sitting a driving test was therefore a huge deal for me. I have spent more than three years working up to this moment. Indeed, if I’m completely honest, I thought I had it in the bag. You can therefore imagine my immense disappointment when I managed to fail it in the first five minutes. There were tears, there was stomping, there may have been a few choice words muttered. But I’ve now pulled myself together and have bravely rebooked my test. I’ll update you on my progress in a couple of months.

Last weekend, I met a friend at Nottingham train station. She had had a somewhat eventful train journey and was very much in need of a cup of tea to revive her spirits. Shunning the Starbucks on the corner, we instead opted for Hopkinson on Station St. Much to the disappointment of the husband, they don’t do cappuccino but what they lack in hot beverages they make up for in antiques and vintage items. Indeed, if you haven’t been to Hopkinson and like your vintage then I would encourage you to find the time to visit. We only had time to have a snoop around the ground floor but we were delighted by the vintage clothes, jewellery and household items. As we are still furnishing and decorating our new house, I suspect that we will be making a return visit to investigate the other floors. I did spy a couple of vintage mirrors on the staircase that I may point out to the husband and I was quite inspired by some of the fabric and wallpaper that I discovered:

Fabric 3 - Hopkinson      Fabric - hopkinson

Vintage shops are a great source of fabric inspiration, particularly for those of us who are fairly timid about our colour and pattern combinations. When it comes to choosing fabrics, I do tend to opt for dainty patterns but I have been inspired by the bold colours and prints from the sixties and seventies so perhaps I’ll try to step outside of my comfort zone and create a more vibrant wall-hanging at some point in the next year. Maybe when Christmas is out of the way… Talking of bold textiles, I am quite excited by the Kaffe Fassett exhibition that will take place next year at the American Museum. Definitely an excuse for a return trip to Bath. I’m sure the husband will share my enthusiasm…..

Whilst we’re on the subject of all things vintage, I thought I’d share a few pictures with you from the wedding that we attended a couple of days ago. The bride, my husband’s childhood friend, is also a fan of vintage style:

             20131103_123327      20131103_123305

The bride is clearly a woman of excellent taste and, whilst the most important feature of a wedding is certainly not the table decorations or the wedding favours, I have to admit that every aspect of the styling – from the tiny birds pinned to the trees to the vintage typewriter displayed to encourage guests to leave messages – really did contribute to its overall success. I was also proud to have been able to make my own contribution to the decor. The husband asked me why I’d kept so many of my lovely china teacups collected for my own wedding two years ago. Well now he can’t say that nobody needs thirty china teacups. And that’s all I’m going to say on the matter…

20131103_123239           20131103_124730

And finally…..  Those of you who are fans of Spoonflower may be interested to know that I have also been helping a friend with the blog content for the website of his new company Woven Monkey. Once the website is launched, I’ll tell you all about it but you will be happy to hear, I am sure, that you will no longer have to pay the import costs for shipping your custom-designed fabric from America. Woven Monkey are based in the UK and will provide this same service for considerably less. In a very short space of time I have learned more than I ever thought possible about fabric, dyes and printing processes. However, it’s also been brilliant to have been able to put my newly-discovered blogging skills to good use! I will of course post the link and write another blog entry about this once all is set up.

Right, I think I’ve come to the end of my ramblings for this evening. It’s getting late and I still have extremely soggy feet from my walk home in the pouring rain so I’m off to make a hot drink and perhaps do a bit of sewing…

April

