Tags

, , , ,

There are times when life is just that little bit challenging and you feel the need to escape from normality, if only for a few days. I am therefore writing today’s post whilst sitting in a lovely little holiday cottage in rural Devon (or it might be Dorset, I’m not completely certain). It is a very restful place to be. From our bedroom window, we can see rolling hills and we can hear the toot-toot of the tiny tram that runs to the seaside. I chose this cottage based on one picture, which I shall share with you now:

Chaise longue...
Everything in the cottage is just so pretty. It is exactly how I would decorate a cottage (husband – please take note) if I am ever lucky enough to own one. My only regret is that I haven’t brought any patchwork or sewing with me. By the time we’d loaded the car then spent quite a bit of time trying to coax our cat Mirabelle out from under the bed (she is a very clever cat, she always seems to know when we’re going on a journey) I didn’t really have any energy to decide which sewing projects to bring. However, I may do a bit of a search on Google to see if there are any patchwork shops in the vicinity…

I love our home but it is predominantly decorated in very neutral colours. It is therefore lovely to be somewhere with a little bit more colour. I thought I would share just a couple of pictures of the beautiful flowers in the garden:

Flowers 1

Flowers 3

Flowers 2

Speaking of all things colourful, I am happy to report that I did manage a quick visit to the Kaffe Fassett exhibition at the American Museum in Bath. It was truly spectacular. For those not familiar with his work, Kaffe Fassett is an American textile artist who loves bright, bold colours. He incorporates them into all of his work. Here are a few pictures so you can see what I mean (they wouldn’t let me use a flash so my apologies that the photos aren’t a bit clearer):

Kaffe fassett lampost

I love this!

Kaffe fassett pink

Kaffe fassett quilt 2

Kaffe fassett tree

He has published several books of quilt patterns but they are a little advanced for me at the moment. Something to aim for in the future perhaps!

Slightly off-topic….Last night, I happened upon a collection of poems by a writer called Judith Viorst entitled It’s Hard to Be Hip Over 30 & Other Tragedies of Married Life (published by the delectable Persephone Books). I randomly opened the book on a poem called Maybe we’ll make it and I have to say that I was hooked. I read the entire collection before I went to sleep and even insisted on reading a couple to the husband. If you like poets such as Carol Ann Duffy and Pam Ayres, I suspect you’ll like this (if you haven’t heard of Pam Ayres then I suggest you google the poem ‘They should have asked my husband’ for a good introduction!)

On that literary note, I will leave you to enjoy this lovely bank holiday weekend..

April x

