During the Easter week, we travelled up to Northumberland for a much-needed holiday. I was very much looking forward to the rest but, what with it being The North, I assumed that it was likely to be a bit bleak and windy. Accordingly, I packed my jeans, warm jumpers, thick tights and boots. Well as you all the know the weather fairies smiled on the UK over Easter and, instead of huddling up against the cold, I found myself searching for an open chemist so that I could buy some sun-cream!

The landscape of Northumberland is truly beautiful and it is far less touristy than popular destinations such as the Lake District or Cornwall. Even though the schools were on holiday, the beaches were pretty deserted and we rarely saw any other cars on the road. Here are just a few photos from our little adventure:

Amble beach3

Beautiful beach at Amble

Amble beach2

Another picture of the beautiful beach at Amble!

Chesters fort

View from the Chesters Roman Fort, part of the fortifications for Hadrian’s Wall

Edlingham Castle

Edlingham Castle

Normal Church - Edlingham

Norman Church (11th Century) at Edlingham

River Coquet - Rothbury

View of the River Coquet – Rothbury

Viaduct - Edlingham

View of the viaduct from Edlingham Castle

We stayed in a lovely little cottage in Rothbury with a very beautiful garden. The owners live next door and we also met their two lovely doggies: Milo and Lola. I don’t think that my photos really reflect the beauty of the garden but you can at least appreciate how beautiful it was in the sunshine!

Pink flowers with Butterfly

Can you spot the butterfly?

Daffodils - Rothbury Watering can - Rothbury

Happily, we discovered a quilting shop called Stitchin’ Heaven in the little village of Longframlington (and I hadn’t even done any research prior to travelling up), so I spent a pleasant hour perusing the pretty fabrics and admiring the range of lovely quilts that were on display. Again, I don’t think that this is the best photo, but you get the idea:

Stitchin Heaven

I’m thinking that I might attempt to make the tree quilt that you can see in this picture. It is a pattern called Lilly Pilly from Don’t Look Now.

The ladies of Stitchin’ Heaven were extremely friendly and even recommended somewhere to have lunch. At the beginning of the day, we had formed a vague plan to travel to the beach, but we were happy to make a small detour to the little village of Felton where we enjoyed a delectable lunch at the Running Fox bakery before perusing Gallery 45. Despite living in our house for over two years now, our walls are still woefully empty of artwork. We were therefore delighted to discover the floral prints of Birgitta Lundmark. We only purchased one print on this occasion but are hoping to obtain a couple more in the near future! Once they are properly framed, I shall try to take a half-decent picture…

When the sun is shining in the UK, there is truly no other place that I would rather be. We returned from our little break feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. If you’ve never visited this lovely part of our little island then I would encourage you to consider it, if for no other reason than we had some of the yummiest ice-cream that we have ever tasted!

🙂

April

