Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s been so cold and damp lately that I have been feeling quite despondent. I briefly cheered up at the prospect of a bit of snow but by the time it reached the midlands it had turned into more rain. Even the cats don’t want to go outside!

But there is, of course, a silver lining. I can change into my pyjamas as soon as I get home from work, put on my snuggly slippers and encourage the husband to put on the log burner (yes, I am able to do this myself but he really loves building fires so what sort of wife would I be if I stopped him from doing what he loves?!)

Log burner

I have been taking a bit of time to go through my quilting books and back issues of Love Patchwork and Quilting. This is partly as I am searching for inspiration for a quilt top that I am currently constructing, partly to try to work out just how on earth you make those patchwork triangles and partly to plan what I’d like to make in the next few months.

I do have some quite lovely fabric in the stash at the moment:Cori Dantini fabric

This beautiful fabric pack was in my goody bag from the Stitch Gathering. It’s really quite delicious and is from a collection called The Makers by Cori Dantini.

Dashwood fabric

These fat quarters were my free gift when I took out a new subscription with LPAQ. The collection is Retro Orchard from Dashwood Studio. I absolutely love the bright prints, definitely good to gaze at when you’re feeling a little low! I can’t wait to use them to make something lovely.

I have been sewing a few EPP Liberty hexies whilst on the train:

Pink Liberty Hexies Grey Liberty Hexies

These were another item in my goody bag from the Stitch Gathering. Such beautiful prints! And they work so well in EPP hexagons 🙂 If only I had enough to make a whole quilt..

Following an email about a sale at the Cotton Patch, I went a bit ‘fabric-happy’ and bought a couple of charm packs of fabric from Amy Butler’s Glow collection. I spent a little bit of time contemplating what to do with them before eventually settling on half-square triangles. It took several attempts before I arrived at an arrangement that I was happy with:

Amy Butler triangles 2

Amy butler trianglesI think that I am going to put a border of dark blue fabric around this and possibly another row of triangles so it’s a bit of a work in progress but I’m pretty happy with it at the moment! I also purchased a Craftsy class (another email!) taught by Camille Roskelley in which I discovered that chain-piecing is a really quick way of joining your patchwork together and that you can easily match seams up using a technique called nesting. So I managed to piece together all of the rows in just one evening – a minor miracle..

To combat the ‘fabric-guilt’, I did clear out some of my stash and sent a bit off to our Regional coordinator of The Quilters’ Guild so that it could be sold at the annual AGM to raise funds. Some of you will know that the Guild recently had to close the wonderful Quilt Museum in York due to a lack of funding so if you are a keen quilter, do peruse their site and consider joining so that they can continue to promote the wonderful art of quilting across the UK..

Well, it’s another cold and grey afternoon so I’m off to light the log-burner, perhaps have some tea and biscuits and, erm, look at fabric websites…

April 🙂

 

 

